Why do we get duplicate stakeholders?
Duplicate stakeholders is a common preoccupation when using stakeholder registers. In Borealis application, stakeholders can be created in many different ways, whether directly in the system, through Excel import, when creating a meeting entry, etc. It can happen that users create two entries for the same stakeholder or even misspell the stakeholder’s name, generating a duplicate entry.
What is the stakeholders merge fonctionnality?
The Stakeholder Merge feature identifies potential duplicates based on name similarities. It also recognizes other information to evaluate the recordings to identify duplicates including nicknames, email, organization, location, address and photo correspondence. The tool allows users to merge or reject potential duplicates with just a few clicks to ensure data integrity.
Stakeholders should be merged when more than one record exist in the system that refer to the same stakeholder. This is a data integrity flaw that prevents from proper tracking of interactions with that stakeholder.
How do I merge individuals?
1- The system automatically identified potential duplicates
Based on the names, the system automatically flags individuals that are potential duplicates of each other in the Individuals register.
Anyone who is detected as a potential duplicate will be identified by the icon in the stakeholder list.
An individual's potential duplicates are listed by clicking on the same icon located at the left of the individual's name on its corresponding record (which can also be shown by selecting Actions > Duplicates management).
2- Manually identify duplicates
Potential duplicates that are not identified by the system can be manually added to the list by choosing Actions > Duplicates management and selecting an individual. Manually added potential duplicates will also be identified by anicon.
3- Ignore or Merge
When hovering over potential duplicates, action buttons appear :
Action "Ignore" results in ignoring the potential duplicate and removing it from the list. By doing so you confirm that it is not a duplicate but a legitimately distinct individual.
Action "Merge" results in merging the selected potential duplicate into the current individual (the current individual record is, therefore "kept" while the selected potential duplicate will be removed).
When selecting action "Merge" the following is performed :
1. Updating the current individual's information with the information of the corresponding individual in the Potential duplicates list
- Any empty field of the current individual will be filled with the content of the potential duplicate individual;
- Values of multiple selection fields will be combined in the current individual.
- Content of fields in a potential duplicate record of other types than multiple selections that are filled in current individual's record will be lost. Always merge from the record you want to keep.
2. Updating all references to the duplicate individual
- Any reference to the duplicate individual anywhere in the system is updated to refer to the current individual instead.
3. Deleting the duplicate individual's record
- The duplicate individual will be deleted and no longer accessible
4. Updating Action History to keep track of the merge.
Note that this action cannot be undone. A pop-up screen will appear, allowing you to confirm the action and enter a comment before it is performed.
Also note that when merging individuals, values in Project field are combined, which results in making the updated individual visible and editable by a new set of users.