Granting delegate access is possible by activating Borealis Delegates feature. By granting this access, you ensure that your work and current files continue when you need to be away.
This feature allows to both users and their delegates to:
- Receive the same notifications and schedule reports;
- Use quick filters such as “Assigned to me”, “I am a member” or, in Analytics, delegate filters as “Current staff (including delegated)” or “Current user (including delegated)” to view records associated to both parties.
There are two ways to grant delegate access: temporarily or permanently.
You may use the temporary delegate option when you need to grant this access only for a specific period of time (e.g., holidays, out-of-office, etc.). Entering a start and an end date is then mandatory.
Back-to-back delegate access occurs in situations where typically two users need to complement each other on a regular basis and have the same responsibilities. There is no period of time required for this access and it will stay active at all times, until the access is removed.
All users, except Guests can add or remove delegate access. Here are the steps to follow to grant it:
- Go to the users list (either by using the icon of your own profile at the top right of your screen, for a regular user, or the Configuration menu for super users);
- Select the name of the user to whom you need to grant delegate access;
- In the General information tab, go to the Delegates section and click on the + sign;
- Select the type of the delegate and the username from the drop-down list:
4. If you select a temporary type, you need to fill in the start and end dates to which this delegation applies:
5. If you choose to enter a permanent delegation, please select the Back-to-Back option. The only mandatory requirement is to select the username from the drop-down list.
6. Please save the record so the changes apply.
A back-to-back delegate will automatically be in effect in both directions, resulting that the current and the selected users will be able to receive the same notifications or to view the same records when using the Me-type filters. This access can be removed if the delegation no longer applies.
The temporary delegate access become automatically inactive when the end date is reached. It is also possible to plan a delegate access ahead, by entering the dates in the future. This delegation will then have a pending status. When the start date is reached, its status becomes active and when the end date is overdue, the status changes to inactive.
When working with delegates, the logic of cascading does not apply. For example, my delegate's delegate will not receive notifications intended for me. Only delegates appearing in my profile will receive them.
When a corporate package is activated, security per project always takes precedence, even when delegated access is granted. Thus, if a delegate does not have access to a certain project, neither will they have it when granted delegate access from a user who has access to that project.
In Analytics, you will find a system widget available for delegates: List of users with active delegates. This may be useful when need to verify the list of delegates in your system or to integrate it into a more significant report.